Too Much Information, and Bad Assumptions

World’s “Oldest Baby” – The world’s “oldest baby” was born to twenty-five year old Beulah Hunter, who gave birth to a daughter at a staggering 375 days after conception. Normal gestation in humans only lasts 280 days. Proof of this amazing gestation goes back to the original pregnancy test done in March 1944 and her last menstruation on February 10, 1944. The baby was a very normal six pounds and fifteen ounces. According to her prenatal doctors the baby had grown exceptionally slowly but was otherwise normal upon it’s birth in 1945.

One of the silly things I do when trying to fall asleep is play the “What If I Was In The Story” game.  Among my many guilty pleasures (alcohol, caffeine, fan fiction, etc– in no specific order) are Mrs. Lackey’s Elemental Masters books.  (Sherlock-ish England with magic and elves– it’s steampunk for urban fantasy folks)

This, given my ties to my ancestors and heavy Star Trek addiction, means that my mind puts all these coy little figurings on what Mary so Sue Me might say, which means I spend a lot of trying-to-fall-asleep time thinking on timelines.

My great-grandfather was born and/or started his married life during the time of the last few books I’ve read, which made me think about how much dodge room there is in admitting that you had a great-grand-father at X time, which reminded me that my first supervisor in the Navy had a GRANDMOTHER that was younger than my parents– he was 15 years in, two teen-mothers, really freaked both of us out when I mentioned that my mom’s 50th was coming up, and REALLY freaked me out (yay, start of realizing “generations” are very, very vague)– which made me sigh, realize I wasn’t going to fall asleep easily tonight, and get up to go google the oldest father on record….

Well, Kit has that “oldest baby” beat by a long shot.

Guys?  Anyone freaked out by talks of girl-cycles?  Leave now, you won’t really miss anything.  Promise.

Kit beat that kid by a LONG time.  My cycles stopped basically as soon as I hit my ship, second assignment in the Navy.  Two years there, then nearly two years before Elf and I got married, then roughly a year before Kit was conceived and no cycle.  I actually talked to Elf about my deep, deep fear that I wouldn’t be able to have children without some bio-chemical help WHILE I WAS UNKNOWINGLY PREGGERS WITH KIT.  (No idea why, but it’s an enduring fear in my family– my sister, mom and grandmother {one, three and five children, respectively} shared it.  After getting pregnant.  No, it doesn’t make logical sense, even when you consider the lost children.)

Keep this in mind, oh ladies who are deeply hurt by not being blessed by a pregnancy.  I DO know how you feel– I’ve been looking into adoption for years.  Try thinking on that, before you start attacking a lady who dares complain when pregnancy hurts.

When I got a positive pregnancy test–which I only took because I’m paranoid– for Kit, I didn’t know what to do.  After a lot of looking around, Elf and I went to “iChoice.”  Only went there because I noticed a pro-life bias to one of their billboards– the word “choice” usually means “kill your child, it’s easier.” (Cynical?  Hell, yes, but with reason.)

iChoice is NOT like that.  The office we went to were very grounded in science, research and the law– rather protestant with a polite evangelical tinge, but utterly polite. They wouldn’t even do an ultrasound when they found out that I hadn’t had a cycle in years, because there’s some sort of law about first trimester vs second trimester.  They were able to point me to an OBGYN that didn’t ask “was she planned” and offer abortion referrals when we said “no,” though.  Heck, they didn’t even ask if I wanted to be sterilized. (Something that I was asked several times by multiple members of FHS, although I suspect lawsuits were involved in that.  Sometimes, I hate Seattle.)

Digression: Elf and I don’t ‘plan’ our kids.  We know freaking basic biology, and know that our… activities… are designed to produce children.  We pay attention to biological cycles if we’re trying to avoid that.  We have health insurance, I take vitamins and watch my diet as closely as I watch our funds, and even when I think there’s no chance of the actions bearing fruit I take pregnancy tests before doing anything that could possibly hurt our kids.  I know some folks need to work hard to have kids; we would have to work hard to not have them, from current evidence, although the spacing is satisfactory to my doctors.  I don’t want to imagine what their response to MY mom would’ve been!

Both of my girls were about eight pounds.  I was just over seven, IIRC.
I wonder if kids are getting bigger, now– heaven knows that I am not bigger than my ancestors, unless you’re talking circumferences!

Heck, Duchess was just 38 weeks and was bigger than that, with no raised levels of bloodsugar even!

3 thoughts on “Too Much Information, and Bad Assumptions”

  1. If you enjoyed it, the series is very rewarding. You learn a lot about Ms. Lackey's personal philosophy and biases, but the stories are strong enough to overcome it.

Leave a Reply

