Fifteen or Twenty Years Ago….

My uncle was trying to nurture my love of reading, so he gave me a couple of books from a second hand store– one of them was this one:

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?lt1=_blank&bc1=FFFFFF&IS2=1&npa=1&bg1=FFFFFF&fc1=000000&lc1=0000FF&t=heanoi-20&o=1&p=8&l=as4&m=amazon&f=ifr&ref=ss_til&asins=0553258524

(sorry the picture isn’t very big)

I was entranced.  I read it until it fell to pieces, read every one of the books I could lay hands on, and I still can recite the poem.  (The little queen all golden…) I still get teary-eyed thinking about the Masterharper’s death.  I moved on to other books of hers, some that I liked, some that I didn’t, and on to other authors…but that book was special, and not just because my favorite uncle wanted me to read it.


I know that the last several years, all the books with her name that I’ve seen have had her son’s name on them as well, and I recently saw a Pern book with only his name.  I knew she was quite old, and probably not in the best of health.

She’s moved on.  Anne McCaffery is dead.  At home, “shortly after a stroke.”

May she rest in peace.

One thought on “Fifteen or Twenty Years Ago….”

Leave a Reply

