"If There Were More Women In X, Then"

Why on earth is that phrase, when X= a position of power and it is followed by a “positive” state of being, so popular?

The first time I can remember hearing it from someone who seemed normal was during a class trip to DC, when a girl (…I was a girl then, too, but I fancy even from this vantage that I was more mature) tried to tell me that if there were more women in power, there wouldn’t be war.

I don’t remember exactly what I said, but I think it was along the lines of asking if she’d ever been around any women in power.  We are no less prone to abuse of power, it just tends to take different forms– I’d argue that women tend to be crueler, while men tend to be more brutal.  (I can take brutality better than cruelty; my husband is slightly the opposite, but is stronger all-around, able to not take it personally.  We actually discussed this on one of our first dates, and not infrequently since then, though not generally in so blunt of a way.)  In modern times, women seem to be worse, because their abuse is “for your own good.

Brought to mind because our thief senator decided to imbue women with an amazing budget sense, never mind any evidence to the contrary. (Money sense is something that is learned. I’d even bet that it’s culturally influenced, although it’s no assurance– my sister is too generous to be good with money, while I’m so cheap that it’s a family joke.)

3 thoughts on “"If There Were More Women In X, Then"”

  1. (Money sense is something that is learned. I'd even bet that it's culturally influenced, although it's no assurance– my sister is too generous to be good with money, while I'm so cheap that it's a family joke.)

    A “No” can generally later be changed to a “Yes”; but a “Yes”, once given, is almost impossible to take back.

Leave a Reply

