Do These Sound Familiar To Anyone Else?

And no, I don’t mean from high school (I’ll bold the ones that jump out anyways) although now I’m wondering about the chicken and egg in that situation….

Stolen from Yorkshire (go read, there’s more, I just have a quick, random thought)

Rules for Power Tactics:
1. Power is not only what you have but what the enemy thinks you have.
2. Never go outside the experience of your people.
3. Whenever possible, go outside of the experience of the enemy.
4. Make the enemy live up to their own book of rules.
5. Ridicule is man’s most potent weapon.

6. A good tactic is one that your people enjoy.
7. A tactic that drags on too long becomes a drag.
8.
Keep the pressure on with different tactics and actions, and utilize all events of the period for your purpose.
9. The threat is usually more terrifying than the thing itself.

10. The major premise for tactics is the development of operations that will maintain a constant pressure upon the opposition.
11. If you push a negative hard and deep enough, it will break through into its counterside.
12. The price of a successful attack is a constructive alternative.
13. Pick the target, freeze it, personalize it, and polarize it.

 

Sounds a lot like the sort of commenters I really dislike—always “I, I, I,” pull up “well, unlike you, I’m familiar with XYZ experience,” search for a “rule” that you’ve broken (usually getting it wrong, see: #13), mistake mockery for an argument (daily show, anyone?), enjoy trolling for reactions, jump out when they start losing, never let a bad event go to waste (no matter how they have to shoe-horn it in and caricature it to make it fit), brag about faults in their reasoning like it’s a good thing, and always always always deal in strawmen.  WTF?

7 thoughts on “Do These Sound Familiar To Anyone Else?”

  1. True.

    I do tend to point out if someone is, say, writing in all lower case, or all upper case, but unless they were totally lacking in content it's silly to focus on that.

    I guess that would fall under 4, 5 and 8….

  2. Since you actually put something into the writing, that's no-where near as annoying. It's the ones where you're not sure if they were randomly assembled that are annoying!

  3. Criticizing grammar and spelling is old-school Internet, just like pure fact-checking was old-school. Using it to disprove your argument is new-school and wrong. But criticizing other people's valid, idiomatic use of the English language is sometimes revelatory of very nasty prejudices.

    [Because in the old days, pretty much everybody online was science or engineering, and geeks figure other geeks would rather be corrected than be (shudder!) ignorant. There are also a lot of folks online who are the new equivalent of “little old lady writing the newspaper about typos”, which is just another form of geek.]

  4. So I find out a lot about commenters who criticize grammar. (Though I take it a lot better from people I know — and I suspect that in the old days, the perceived ability to know almost everyone on the Net if you cared to, was part of why proofreading other people's posts seemed so acceptable and normal.)

  5. *laughs* Apparently I'm a throw-back– unless I'm being childish, I tend to correct folks' writing and facts because I think they won't want to be wrong!

Leave a Reply

