Goodbye Secondhand Smoke, Hello NRO » Secondhand Smoke | A First Things Blog

This is the 5,728th–and last–edition of Secondhand Smoke.  When I next post, I will be at National Review Online, the master of a new blog called Human Exceptionalism.

I began SHS during the early days of blogging when Andrew Sullivan and a few others were blazing the trail.  In those days, most blogs had whimsical titles, and so I decided on Secondhand Smoke, a name I had always intended to call a newspaper opinion column if I were ever to have one.  My joke has always been–remember, there is often truth in humor–that I chose the title because I am full of hot air and emit particulate matter.

SHS used to primarily be about bioethics, and that field being a point of the spear for undermining the equality/sanctity of human life, it will remain an area of special emphasis in HE.  But, anti humanism–implicit and explicit–has been growing in other fields, and thus my concerns expanded over the years.  That thickening of portfolio (if you will) will accelerate further at NRO, and hence, we decided on the more descriptive title.

via Goodbye Secondhand Smoke, Hello NRO » Secondhand Smoke | A First Things Blog.

Well, it’ll be easier to find, but on the other hand… I’ve been plugging Secondhand Smoke blog for ages!

Then again, NRO probably pays better than freelancing. 

Leave a Reply

