Let me fix that for you….

I believe you can have freedom and care about reducing income inequality. I believe you can have liberty and smaller soda sizes. I believe you can throw off tyranny and still have a smarter health care system that delivers care to more people. I’m a liberal because even though conservatives and libertarians can sometimes come up with good ideas to address these problems, mostly you sense they’d rather not be bothered. Which leaves good old-fashioned Big Government as the most likely option to actually fix stuff.

via When Does the Nanny Become a Despot? | Power Line.

He got it a bit wrong:

I  believe you can have freedom and not allow anyone, through effort or luck, to be better off than anyone else. I believe you can have liberty and not be allowed to buy a large soda. I believe you can throw off tyranny and force everyone to pay for your health care as well as force doctors to accept that price. I’m a liberal because even though conservatives and libertarians can sometimes come up with good ideas to address these problems, mostly they actually allow people to do something other than what I say. Which leaves good old-fashioned Big Government as the most likely option to actually fix stuff.

Leave a Reply

