Thank You

I haven’t been having very good days.  Nothing big, just… grinding.

I know I should go try to sleep– I’m tired all day, but seem to wake up as soon as the girls are asleep– but I’m wasting time looking for a game registration email, instead.

For some unknowable reason, searching for the name of the game brought up an email from a dead woman.  Nothing odd there, I couldn’t bear to delete the dozens of forwards from Nancy when she was alive, and even less so after her death.  It costs nothing but a moment’s distraction.

Here’s the email: 

 “Friends are God’s way of taking care of us.”

>> 
>> This was written by a Hospice of Metro Denver physician.
>> 
>> I just had one of the most amazing experiences of my life, and wanted
>> to share it with my family and dearest friends:
>> 
>> I was driving home from a meeting this evening about 5, stuck in
>> traffic on Colorado Blvd., and the car started to choke and splutter
>> and die - I barely managed to coast, cruising into a gas station, glad
>> only that I would not be blocking traffic and would have a somewhat
>> warm spot to wait for the tow truck. It wouldn't even turn over.
>> Before I could make the call, I saw a woman walking out of the
>> "quickie mart" building, and it looked like she slipped on some ice
>> and fell into a Gas pump, so I got out to see if she was okay.
>> 
>> When I got there, it looked more like she had been overcome by sobs
>> than that she had fallen; she was a young woman who looked really
>> haggard with dark circles under her eyes. She dropped something as I
>> helped her up, and I picked it up to give it to her. It was a nickel.
>> 
>> At that moment, everything came into focus for
>> me: the crying woman, the ancient Suburban crammed full of stuff with
>> 3
>> kids in the back (1 in a car seat), and the gas pump reading $4.95.
>> 
>> I asked her if she was okay and if she needed help, and she just kept
>> saying "I don't want my kids to see me crying," so we stood on the
>> other side of the pump from her car. She said she was driving to
>> California and that things were very hard for her right now.
>> So I asked, "And you were praying?" That made her back away from me a
>> little, but I assured her I was not a crazy person and said, "He heard
>> you, and He sent me."
>> 
>> I took out my card and swiped it through the card reader on the pump
>> so she could fill up her car completely, and while it was fueling,
>> walked to the next door McDonald's and bought 2 big bags of food, some
>> gift certificates for more, and a big cup of coffee. She gave the food
>> to the kids in the car, who attacked it like wolves, and we stood by
>> the pump eating fries and talking a little.
>> 
>> She told me her name, and that she lived inKansas City. Her boyfriend
>> left 2 months ago and she had not been able to make ends meet. She
>> knew she wouldn't have money to pay rent Jan 1, and finally in
>> desperation had finally called her parents, with whom she had not
>> spoken in about 5 years.
>> They lived in California and said she could come live with them and
>> try to get on her feet there.
>> 
>> So she packed up everything she owned in the car She told the kids
>> they were going to California for Christmas, but not that they were
>> going to live there.
>> 
>> I gave her my gloves, a little hug and said a quick prayer w ith her
>> for safety on the road. As I was walking over to my car, she said,
>> "So, are you like an angel or something?"
>> 
>> This definitely made me cry. I said, "Sweetie, at this time of year
>> angels are really busy, so sometimes God uses regular people."
>> 
>> It was so incredible to be a part of someone else's miracle. And of
>> course, you guessed it, when I got in my car it started right away and
>> got me home with no problem. I'll put it in the shop tomorrow to
>> check, but I suspect the mechanic won't find anything wrong.
>> 
>> Sometimes the angels fly close enough to you that you can hear the
>> flutter of their wings...
>> 
>> Psalms 55:22 "Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and He shall sustain thee.
>> He
>> shall never suffer the righteous to be moved."
>> 
>> My instructions were to pick four people that I wanted God to bless,
>> especially for the months in 2007, and I picked you.
>> 
>> Please pass this to four people you want to be blessed
>> 
>> This prayer is powerful and prayer is one of the best gifts we receive.
>> 
>> 
>> There is no cost but a lot of rewards. Let's continue to pray for one
>> another.
>> 
>> Here is the prayer:
>> 
>> "Father, I ask You to bless my children, grandchildren, friends,
>> relatives and e-mail buddies reading this right now. Show them a new
>> revelation of your love and power. Holy Spirit, I ask You to minister
>> to their spirit at this very moment. Where there is pain, give them
>> Your peace and mercy.
>> Where
>> there is self doubt, release a renewed confidence through Your grace,
>> In Jesus' precious name.
>> Amen."
>> 
>> I know I picked more than four and you can, too.
>> 
>> When Satan is knocking at your door, simply say, "Jesus, could You
>> please get that for me?"
>> 
>> Being blessed is GOOD...being HIGHLY FAVORED is best!

Thanks, Nancy. Say "hi!" to Fred for me.
Leave a Reply

