What Does Victory Look Like?

So, let’s start from the top – Wombat points out that we, the Odds, the Geeks, the kids who could quote from Star Trek in High School (yeah, I could too, though you’d have needed to use the iron maiden to get me to admit it.  In public I’d tell you Star Trek wasn’t “real” Science Fiction.  That was Simak and Heinlein and others.), the people who grew up able to debate for hours the comparative strengths of Heinlein and Asimov…  We’ve won.  I realized this when there were programs with battles of robots on TV.  I realized that when things like Myth Busters became nation wide successes.  I realized that when most new blockbuster movies drew on science fiction.

via A Shelf Of Our Own | According To Hoyt.

Leave a Reply

