The futility of gun control

Monday Evening

The regulated part of an AR-15 is just the lower receiver – the part with the trigger and the magazine well, and with the serial number. The rest – upper receiver, barrel, stock – is just parts subject to less government regulation than a double cheeseburger with a large soda. So to buy a lower receiver, I need all the forms and permissions required for a functioning rifle. Then I can get parts and build for myself whatever I want on top of that lower receiver, as long as the resulting gun is not something illegal for me to own, like a machine gun.

In fact, a skilled metal worker and machinist could make his own lower receiver from scratch. He could make one for himself, but couldn’t manufacture them for sale without getting a slew of permits and paying big bucks. But between a piece of steel and a…

View original post 133 more words

5 thoughts on “The futility of gun control”

  1. When I was a kid, I realized that I probably eventually be able to build something to surround the cartridges, so long as I had them.

    Anyway, Embers updated just now, figured I’d leave a note for you in case.

    1. Thank you!

      Re-reading– up to chapter 44– and was still delighted to get the email!

      Now to see if I can hold back from reading the newest chapter until I get there in order…..

      1. Good point; fascinating link. As the price gets higher, so does the reward for success. It seem like the drug cartels, for instance, would be eager to assure their own supply.

Leave a Reply

