LILEKS (James) :: The Bleat 2014

Took my mug shot and left. It’ll take three to six weeks.

Really? I know the licenses aren’t like the keycards you get on a ship, but they make those in about 10 seconds, and I have to think there’s a quicker way to get them to me. Unless someone actually draws them by hand to look like official documents, and the foil-and-hologram part takes a whole day.

via LILEKS (James) :: The Bleat 2014.

I think I can shed light on this– at least, the reason I hope that it is.

You don’t want them to be able to make the card at the office, because a fake ID is worth a lot.  This would be a false ID– there wouldn’t be a tell in how it was made.

So you put the IDs somewhere that can have really good supervision, where the supplies can’t be stolen, and where you only have to find one in fifty of all of your employees that can be trusted with instant identity theft materials….

(The military did the same sort of thing last time I was in for a new card.)

Leave a Reply

