This Earth Day, Let’s Not Forget the Decades’ Worth of Environmental Panic Americans Have Been Perpetually Fed | National Review Online

If I fail to demonstrate the expected urgency and panic, it is because I have been fed urgency and panic on these matters all my life. I remember the imminent-ice-age phase, and while some say that was never really a thing, trust me. Why, here’s a little clip or two from a Spock-narrated documentary.

We expected to grow up in a barren tundra and be gored to death by wooly mastodons. Provided the ecosystem didn’t collapse from overpopulation, our visions of the future had sweaty, grimy people in filthy smocks clawing out each other’s eyes for a wedge of Soylent.

via This Earth Day, Let’s Not Forget the Decades’ Worth of Environmental Panic Americans Have Been Perpetually Fed | National Review Online.

5 thoughts on “This Earth Day, Let’s Not Forget the Decades’ Worth of Environmental Panic Americans Have Been Perpetually Fed | National Review Online”

    1. Was discussing this at work the other day with some of the Kids that work for me (18-30) counting, I came up with over 12 times in my memory that “the world was going to end”… after a while you get jaded.

  1. I remember the impending Ice Age, the doom of Acid Rain and how we were going to run out of oil by the turn of the century according to Carter. I had a lot of anxiety about the future when I was a child. Now, not so much.

    1. I can just barely remember an aunt freaking me out about acid rain… possibly because I understood the concept of what acid can do a bit better than she did, and she wasn’t very clear on what “very strong” meant.

      Big difference between “will wear down some types of statues in a decade if no steps are taken” and “will melt the paint off cars in one storm.”

Leave a Reply

