August 6, 1945: Bombing of Hiroshima | The American CatholicThe American Catholic

Studs Terkel:  So Ramsey told you about the possibilities.

Paul Tibbets:  Even though it was still theory, whatever those guys told me, that’s what happened. So I was ready to say I wanted to go to war, but I wanted to ask Oppenheimer how to get away from the bomb after we dropped it. I told him that when we had dropped bombs in Europe and North Africa, we’d flown straight ahead after dropping them – which is also the trajectory of the bomb. But what should we do this time? He said, “You can’t fly straight ahead because you’d be right over the top when it blows up and nobody would ever know you were there.” He said I had to turn tangent to the expanding shock wave. I said, “Well, I’ve had some trigonometry, some physics. What is tangency in this case?” He said it was 159 degrees in either direction. “Turn 159 degrees as fast as you can and you’ll be able to put yourself the greatest distance from where the bomb exploded.”

Studs Terkel:  How many seconds did you have to make that turn?

Paul Tibbets:  I had dropped enough practice bombs to realize that the charges would blow around 1,500 ft in the air, so I would have 40 to 42 seconds to turn 159 degrees. I went back to Wendover as quick as I could and took the airplane up. I got myself to 25,000 ft and I practiced turning, steeper, steeper, steeper and I got it where I could pull it round in 40 seconds. The tail was shaking dramatically and I was afraid of it breaking off, but I didn’t quit. That was my goal. And I practiced and practiced until, without even thinking about it, I could do it in between 40 and 42, all the time. So, when that day came….

Studs Terkel:  You got the go-ahead on August 5.

via August 6, 1945: Bombing of Hiroshima | The American CatholicThe American Catholic.

One thought on “August 6, 1945: Bombing of Hiroshima | The American CatholicThe American Catholic”

  1. A horrendous act, but one for which I’ll brook no condemnation of the men who carried it off. As Patton put it, the object of war is not to die for your country, but to make the other guy die for his. It’s may be debatable over whether or not more people would have died during an invasion of the home islands (I for one believe an order of magnitude more would have died), but when it comes to me and mine dying vs. them and theirs, They Die and We Live every single time.

Leave a Reply

