Joan Lee Dead: Wife of Marvel Comics Legend Stan Lee Was 93 | Hollywood Reporter

After a childhood sweetheart wed another woman, Joan Clayton impulsively married an American soldier during World War II and moved to New York, where she was extremely unhappy. Meanwhile, a cousin of Lee’s wanted to set up the struggling writer with a hat model. Lee tells what happened next:

“When I was young, there was one girl I drew; one body and face and hair. It was my idea of what a girl should be. The perfect woman. And when I got out of the Army, somebody, a cousin of mine, knew a model, a hat model at a place called Laden Hats. He said, ‘Stan, there’s this really pretty girl named Betty. I think you’d like her. She might like you. Why don’t you go over and ask her to lunch.’ Blah, blah, blah.

“So I went up to this place. Betty didn’t answer the door. But Joan answered, and she was the head model. I took one look at her — and she was the girl I had been drawing all my life. And then I heard the English accent. And I’m a nut for English accents! She said, ‘May I help you?’ And I took a look at her, and I think I said something crazy like, ‘I love you.’ I don’t remember exactly. But anyway, I took her to lunch. I never met Betty, the other girl. I think I proposed to [Joan] at lunch.”

Source: Joan Lee Dead: Wife of Marvel Comics Legend Stan Lee Was 93 | Hollywood Reporter

Rest in peace, Mrs. Stan Lee.

I’m glad you told him to try before he quit.

4 thoughts on “Joan Lee Dead: Wife of Marvel Comics Legend Stan Lee Was 93 | Hollywood Reporter”

    1. You saw the picture of him at the new Spiderman launching vs 2001, too?

      I’m glad that he’s been able to have so many years of huge success, and that she got to see it.

      1. Not to mention that close, old loves like that tend not to last much past the 6 month mark. (my grandma lasted just long enough to see me graduate college then went off to rejoin her husband)

Leave a Reply

